10 years, 10 questions

A few days ago, the Godmother posted a series of 10 question for WoW’s 10th anniversary. I did my best to answer them, though I may have forgotten some details along the journey.

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I started WoW when I was quite young. My dad played the original Warcraft, Starcraft and Diablo games, and also gamed with his friends in EverQuest. Once WoW came out, they all started to switch over and continue their adventures in Azeroth. My dad caved, and we got the game in January of 2005. My dad has since lost his love for the game, claiming it’s “too easy” (as so many naysayers do), but I still adore it.

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

The first character I ever played was Goldenblade, a female human warrior. My dad told me and my sister that we couldn’t play the same race or class, so we would experience different things – we also watched each other play, so we got the story for both anyways. If she hadn’t picked first, I would have been a Night Elf druid, believe me. Goldenblade was my main through Vanilla and BC, but was deleted coming up to Lich King. My main is now Deathdaisy, an Unholy Night Elf Death Knight. Surprisingly, I only really started playing druids in Cata, even though they are easily my favourite class.

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

For the most part, I show no faction bias. When I first started playing, my dad and all his friends played Alliance, so my main was also Alliance. We had a second server (remember queue times?) for our Horde characters, which is where I made my first druid. Since then, I have played fairly equally between the factions. Unfortunately, I feel as if I can never have true Horde pride like many do – not after what happened in Cataclysm. Darkshore, Ashenvale, Azshara, Felwood, Stonetalon – I can’t stand Blizzard destroying Night Elven culture and people like this. I also loathe Garrosh, which doesn’t help much. So, I’m neutral with a slight lean to the blue & gold. :)

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

There have been many memorable moments for me. The thing is, I don’t raid, or PvP, or do dungeons at level. Most people’s “big moments” were probably along those lines. Mine? I have three that instantly come to mind:

  • Finally getting Thunderfury on my Death Knight;
  • Running Karazhan (solo) for the first time; and
  • the Savior of Stoneplow questline/cinematic.

These were things that made the game amazing for me: the challenges, the stories, the settings, the personal ambitions and experiences.

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

I am, first and foremost, a casual player. It breaks my heart when people say we “ruin the game”. So we play a little differently than you, so we find our joy and excitement somewhere else – so what? I will always adore the lore of the game, exploration, pets (both collecting and battles), mount collecting, rep farming, and dungeon running when you’re 30 levels higher than the bosses. To put it simply: I am casual, and I love it!

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

It depends on the character: my druids are usually hanging around Moonglade (one of the many reasons I love druids), my NE priest is usually in the Temple of the Moon, my Troll druid has recently fallen in love with the Filthy Animal in Dalaran, and my DK has spent more time in Molten Core than is healthy for anyone, living or otherwise. However, the one place I know I will always return to is Zangarmarsh. I cannot get over the beauty of the zone, and I absolutely love both the Cenarion Expedition and Sporregar.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

Hoo, boy – here we go:

  • Deathdaisy: 49 days, 4 hours, 38 minutes, 12 seconds
  • Kethysa: 3 days, 20 hours, 12 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Zanjun: 3 days, 19 hours, 42 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Aleer: 1 day, 14 hours, 29 minutes, 11 seconds
  • Isabelledobs: 1 day, 23 hours, 0 minutes, 28 seconds
  • Moragolden: 0 days, 17 hours, 20 minutes, 4 seconds
  • Cielbright: 0 days, 16 hours, 57 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Meie: 0 days, 18 hours, 20 minutes, 17 seconds
  • Tivaan: 0 days, 1 hour, 0 minutes, 14 seconds
  • Lannea: 0 days, 0 hours, 15 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Katheri: 0 days, 0 hours, 14 minutes, 27 seconds
  • For a grand Total of: 68 days, 4 hours, 10 minutes, 35 seconds

That isn’t even counting the alts that I’ve played, leveled to 20, and deleted (believe me, there were a lot of them). And no, it isn’t continuous. I mean, I’ve never unsubbed, but there’s just been points where real life just gets in the way…sometimes for months at a time. My playing can be kind of sporadic, but I have an incredibly busy schedule, and WoW isn’t something you can really do in 15 minute chunks. Well, not much, anyway. ;)

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Absolutely! When I first started playing, I was really young, so I didn’t care, and when I went through WotLK for the first time with Deathdaisy, I was just trying so hard to get to max before Cata hit so I could do Operation: Gnomeregan. While I’ve been leveling my druids, I’ve been taking things slower, reading quest text and flavour text, and having more fun with the questing process. There are also some great references, jokes, and tearjerkers in the text.

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

Oh, god – there will always be this one that stands out. Before Lich King came out, I had a level 16 mage who was buying pets off the auction house (using alts’ money, of course) and holding on to them for my Death Knight. Early on in the game, the Hyacinth Macaw could be bought from the same vendor as the other three. However, between launch and Lich King, it was removed and made a zone drop in STV. I bought all four parrots off the auction house, but couldn’t remember which was which. Stupid me didn’t look it up online, no of course not – I went and learned one of them. The Hyacinth Macaw. The only pet in game that is epic quality – and for good reason. It is a really freakin’ low drop, and I had to go farm it once WotLK hit. As soon as I saw those blue feathers I felt like smacking myself. So, a word to the wise: always look something up online before doing something dumb, OK?

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming? 

Well, I have alienated people because of my love of Blizzard games, that’s for sure (well, person). However, World of Warcraft has also gotten me to be more serious about my artwork, my character designs (planning, that is), and my writing. My story on here, Rise, Legendary? First time I’ve ever published anything that I’ve written. It’s also the first fanfiction that I’ve written, and the first original piece that I’ve written since 6th grade (I have written stuff since then, but all of it was rewritten and reworked stuff from earlier). WoW has also introduced me to many new novels and comics that I completely adore – I’ve read Lord of the Clans maybe 5 times now? I adore Christie Golden’s writing, and I am with the rest of the playerbase with hating Knaak’s.

Well, there’s ten years of WoW from me! I hope you’ve all enjoyed the trip as much as I have, and I hope all of you continue to love this amazing game.


Leave a Reply

